The End of 00Alts?!

allyhordbanI figured that since it’s been awhile since I last posted, I would post again with a doozie!  Yesterday Blizzard had finally announced that soon they will be providing faction transfers.  For all those Allys who had a secret love for the Horde can now move over and be happy.  The same goes for the opposite direction.  I think this is a great idea, if done properly.

Now I’ve been a WoW lifetime Ally player since the game 1st came out.  I’ve leveled numerous Alliance toons and have seen most of the aspects of the game through Ally eyes.  One day my old friend rerolled Horde and convinced me that I should level a toon on Horde to play with him.  I resisted for a long time, but eventually I gave in.  The experience is totally different, but the same, at the same time.  I love it on Horde just as much as I do on Alliance.

So now I have been playing two sides.  I have dear friends on both sides.  I will be truthful though, its hard playing both.  You don’t get to spend as much time as you need on one side.  You miss out on a lot of stuff, and you have to schedule very carefully.  Playing both sides also “forces” you to play WoW more because you want to talk and interact with friends on both sides.

Right now, I’m facing a situation that will right my wrong.  For some, they can play both sides and be happy in all aspects.  I’ve been slowly learning that I’m not that kind of person.  Its hard for me to raid both sides for this long.  I’m currently taking a hiatus from raiding period and I’m loving it.  No more 5-6 days of raiding.  No more staying up way too late because raids last so long.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to quit WoW, nor do I want to give up on raiding all together.  I just want back in on a better schedule; however; raiding on both sides ain’t working.

So, with this new opportunity, it gives me a chance to get back to the way things were, maybe.  I would love to focus on one side and be able to fully commit and contribute and be a full part of a guild.  I can transfer one or more of my toons over and be happy there.  I can help out more in guild activities and such.

The problem with this happiness is that I need to come to a realization that friends will be “lost”.  I haven’t picked a side, if any.  Who knows, I may stay fighting on both sides.  I haven’t worked out all the scenarios in my head.  I need to talk about it with all my friends.  See what their thoughts are.  I’m friendly to all people, but like most others, I have my little inner circle of people on both sides I would love to keep.  In a perfect world I could convince all my friends from one side to go to the other, but I know that won’t be the case.

So, until we get closer to the time in which this becomes a reality, it will stay in the back of my mind and things will resume as normal.  I will keep you all updated.

~ by klaki on June 30, 2009.

6 Responses to “The End of 00Alts?!”

  1. Regardless of what happens, you will always be my favorite raid leader, whether you are taking me into battle or our love child I will always look to you for the next pull

  2. I know it has been tough on you and I REALLY enjoyed the time you spent on horde. Some of the best times I’ve had in the game- seriously. I sure wish this would’ve happened 6 months ago, I’d have a Horde Lock! Oh well- I miss hangin out with you all. I applaud your attempt at more of a life balance. I’ve been out for awhile and my quality of life has greatly improved. The only drawback are the friends I don’t nearly have enough contact with- at least we have HALO!
    Keep us updated!

  3. You two have been such great friends and guildmates. However, I haven’t made a decision yet X. I’m still going to lead you into battle! Our baby will still have her pallyparent 🙂 I don’t think of a person X than you to have a fictional WoW baby amongst two female toons. You’re great attitude and spunky sense of humor has made WoWing and blogging more enjoyable.

    Mango! What can I say about you?! Yes! You sure have given me a hard time about leaving Alliance, but alas I’m still there. I don’t know where I’m going, I may leave Alliance all together and go Horde, not sure. Anywho… it has been with the upmost pleasure that I have known you for these past years and continuing the friendship outside of WoW has helped me through a many a work days.

    We still do XBox, IM, and other forms of communication, so yes, the “guys” will live on! 🙂

  4. if all else fails we can get together and go paintballing. It’s like halo, but it is more colorfull then gun metal gray 😛

  5. I have a feeling a lot of guilds will be severed once this is implimented. People transfering Horde, others transfering Alliance. It’ll suck and be cool at the same time. I’m anxious to see what kind of disruption it will cause.

  6. Salina Praid Cazare

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your
    point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something
    informative to read?

Leave a Reply

 
