The Thin Line Between Noob and Bug

smally(Sorry for the lack of posting lately.  Work is slowly driving me insane…. and when I say slowly, I mean Driving Miss Daisy slow, and my mind can’t deal with it!  If you’re going to drive me nuts, do it fast so I don’t suffer…. but I digress)

I’ve seen it, you’ve seen it, and most of us have done it.  I haven’t of course because I’m me and I know I would NEVER do anything like it.  Ask around, no seriously, I’ll be here when you get back…

See!  I told you!  Actually, you all probably don’t know what I’m talking about, but hey, that’s why I write more than two sentences.  What I’m talking about is when somebody fails because of extreme noobism but has the pride of a lion and refuses to admit it.  “This has got to be some kind of bug!”  It brings into question, where is this line between noob and bug.

“I don’t know whats going on?!  Must be a bug”  “This is bull!  This never happens!” The list of excuses and QQs can go on and on and on and on and …. well you get the point.  I was in a Nax run recently (25 man) where we decided to do Instructor Raz first because we had two priests and we wanted to get it done while we had them.  So getting there was easy enough.  Things were going smooth and I began to think that this was going to be an awesome run.  (Please not that this was my 1st Nax25 run with the new guild I was trying out).

It’s funny how things can be going so awesomely and then on a moments notice turn into a nightmare.  Normally I don’t like banging my head into the wall.  I’ve done it enough to where people question if I’m all right up there already.  So we go into this fight and we die once…. and then we die again…. and again… and again.  It was like a broken record of your favorite band that you don’t want others to know about.  You know its bad for you, but you can’t help but to listen to it again.  The loop of wipes was mind-numbing, and I’m not going to go into the reasons why I think we wiped.  However I will tell you this… it got bad enough, that we were wiping before we started the fight officially.  People would run too close in, accidentally pull, etc.  It was a total disaster.

During these numerous wipes, you began hearing the quiet quims of “This shouldn’t happen” and “Man I don’t remember him being this hard”.  Then after more wipes it got into the full fledged “This never happens!  He must be bugged” and “He’s bugged.  My mind controls never break like this.”  It was hilarity in that we were wasting time and gold because of this.  Now was it truly a bug….. or were we just noobish that night.  DU DU DUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU.  I guess we’ll never know 🙂

In a good note though.  Most of my other runs with the new guild have went well.  I’ve been in Uld25 a couple of times and it was fun.  However, this incident lingers in my head like the smell of moldy cheese.

~ by klaki on June 11, 2009.

3 Responses to “The Thin Line Between Noob and Bug”

  1. I didn’t lag on the gauntlet run, it was a bug…. lol. Seriously, that must have been annoying hearing all those, I have never had this happen before (must have started to sound like an ED commercial). I have only done the fight twice, the first time was with a decent pug, but we couldn’t down it partially because of my noobness (well more then partially) but also the other priest had no mice so I wasn’t entirely sure when to taunt off of him, but we did have 2 other understudies, so it should have gone better, but no. The time was with a DP pug, most know how I feel about DP (they do live up to their reputation). Anyways, the dps was insane, but even despite my noobness, a couple people died, but still we got it done. Personally if I ever hear someone complain about a bug, when it is their own noobness, I will say: I don’t think it is a bug, I brought my raid :P!!!!!

  2. No mice? Fail! He needs to get some immediately! ❤
    http://www.petsmart.com

  3. Razuvious is one of those fights where it is SO easy to screw up if your priests don’t know what the heck they’re doing. I was in a pug once where we had two priests who didn’t know what the crap they were doing; eventually they managed to get the mind-control to stick, but they wouldn’t use boneshield and the adds would die…

    Razuvious with bad priests can cause serious trauma and lasting nightmares, so beware!

Leave a comment